Australian Mitch Robins wins Challenge Iskandar Puteri

Mitch Robins from Australia overcame challenging weather conditions to emerge as champion of the 2017 UEM Sunrise Iskandar Puteri Triathlon Challenge at Puteri Harbour in Johor this morning.

Leading the field from the first discipline of 1.9km swim at the Puteri Harbour, Mitch withstood an early morning downpour to complete the 90km cycling discipline before racing past the finish line at the end of the 21km run in a time of 3 hours, 57 minutes and 47 seconds.

“It was quite challenging on the bike as the road was quite slippery due to rain,” said Mitch. “Still I managed to hang on to the lead and I must commend the route for cycling and running as it was far better than last year. It was a tough race nonetheless and I am glad to have won it and the experience was truly fantastic.”

Mitch Robins was born and raised in Port Macquarie, Australia. He first ventured into triathlon in 2008  and won his first professional race at Port Macquarie Half Ironman in 2010.

Mitch represented Australia at the Beijing ITU World Championships in 2011. A devastating foot injury in 2012 has sidelined him for 2 years. He marked his return to competition by winning the Challenge Foster 2014. Finishing second was Fredrik Croneborg of Sweden with a time of 3:58:29 whole. Cameron Brown of New Zealand was third with a time of 4:00:48.

In the women’s category, Beate Goertz emerged as champion with a time of 4 hours, 29 minutes and 32 seconds.

“I knew I had to go hard on the bike. And the bike route is to my liking as it is flat. There were some tricky areas with a lot of bumps. But overall this is a good race and well organized, “said Beate.

In second sport was Anna Eberhardt (HUN), 4:32:12 while Kathryn Haesner (NZL) came in third at 4:37:04.

Puteri Harbour was all abuzz with the Challenge Iskandar Puteri 2017, a triathlon event under the global Challenge Family Series of half and full triathlon races, attracting thousands to Puteri Harbour, the jewel in the crown of UEM.

Iskandar Puteri is the host for the second time, after organising the inaugural event in 2016.


Results Top 3 Men:
1. Mitchell Robins (AUS) 3:57:47
2. Fredrik Croneborg (SWE) 3:58:29
3. Cameron Brown (NZL) 4:00:48

Results Top 3 Women:
1. Beate Goertz (GER) 4:29:32
2. Anna Eberhardt (HUN) 4:32:12
3. Kathryn Haesner (NZL) 4:37:04